Vibepanions Get Vibepanions

Home / Guides / Usage monitors compared

Claude Code usage monitors for Mac, compared (2026)

Updated 1 Oct 2026 by DevSparks

Quick answer: if you only need a number now and then, type /usage in Claude Code or /status in Codex. If you want your limits on screen all day, pick a monitor by where its numbers come from. Tools that read Claude Code's own status line data or the provider's usage page show real figures; tools that count tokens in local logs show estimates. Only a few also tell you which terminal session is waiting for you. Fourteen tools are compared below, with a short list of which to pick for what.

How do Claude Code limits work?

Claude Code on a Pro, Max, Team or seat-based Enterprise plan is metered by two limits at once: a five-hour session limit and weekly limits. The Claude Help Center describes both on the Settings > Usage page, which shows how much of the five-hour session you have used, the time left in it, and when your weekly limit resets (with a separate bar for Fable if your plan includes it).

The allowance is shared. Anthropic says your usage of claude.ai, Claude Code and Claude Desktop all counts towards the same limit, so a long chat in the browser eats into the budget your terminal sessions need. How fast you use it depends on message length, files, tools, the model and the effort level.

Claude Code also hands these figures to your status line script. Its documentation lists rate_limits.five_hour and rate_limits.seven_day, each with a used percentage and a reset time. The field appears only for claude.ai Pro and Max subscribers, and only after the first reply in a session.

How do Codex limits work?

Codex, when you sign in with ChatGPT, uses a 5-hour window and a weekly window too. OpenAI's help article on using Codex with a ChatGPT plan refers to both "5-hour and weekly Codex usage windows", and the Codex pricing page says local messages and cloud chats share your plan's allowance, with weekly limits that "may also apply".

The 5-hour window has not been constant. On 24 August 2026, OpenAI's Codex lead said the 5-hour limit would return for Plus accounts the next day, and that it would stay off "for the upcoming months" on Pro $100 and Pro $200. Check /status rather than assuming which windows your plan has today.

What can you check without installing anything?

All four are official, and all four answer only when you ask. None of them runs in the background or warns you before a long task starts. The full walkthrough is in how to check your Claude Code and Codex usage limits.

Which usage monitors are there?

Fourteen tools and the built-in checks, compared on what each one's own site, README or store listing says. Where a listing does not say, the table says "not stated". Prices are as listed on 1 Oct 2026.

ToolWhat it isClaude limit figuresCodexWhich session needs you
Built-in checks/usage, Settings > Usage, Codex /status and dashboardOfficial, on requestYes, /status and dashboardNo
Claude Code Usage MonitorLive terminal monitor, Python 3.9+, MITOfficial status line rate_limits when fresh, otherwise labelled local estimates (P90 by default)Not statedNot stated
ccusageCLI reports from local usage data, MITToken and cost reports, including 5-hour blocks; plan percentages not statedYes (ccusage codex daily)Not stated
Claude Usage Tracker (browser extension)Chrome and Firefox extension for claude.aiCounts tokens in claude.ai chats; Claude Code not statedNot statedNot stated
CodexBarmacOS 14+ menu bar app, MIT, many providersSession and weekly windows with reset countdowns, via OAuth, browser cookies or the CLIYesNot stated
Claude Usage Tracker (Mac app)macOS 14+ menu bar app, MITSession, weekly and per-model usage, mainly via a claude.ai session keyYes, since v3.3.0Dynamic Island (beta) shows what Claude Code is doing and pulses when it needs input
UsagebarmacOS menu bar app, USD 9 once5-hour and weekly percentages with reset timers, from Anthropic's usage API using your Claude Code login in the KeychainNo, Claude Code onlyNot stated
SessionWatchermacOS 14+ menu bar app, also Windows; from USD 6.99 once5-hour, weekly and Fable limits, read from your local CLI loginsYes, among 20 toolsNot stated
Code MeterMac App Store menu bar app, macOS 26+; free to try, lifetime unlock USD 3.995-hour and weekly gauges with burn rate; how it connects "differs depending on the provider"Yes, among 14 providersNot stated
ClaudeUsageBarmacOS 12+ menu bar app, free and open source5-hour, weekly and per-model usage, through a claude.ai session cookie you paste inNo, a separate CodexUsageBar appNot stated
Limits Monitor for Claude CodemacOS 14+ menu bar app, free; Mac App Store listing in review on 1 Oct 20265-hour, weekly and per-model usage, from Anthropic's usage API using the Claude Code Keychain itemNo, Claude Code onlyNot stated
AI Limits TrackeriPhone app with a Mac menu bar companion and Apple Watch; free for one account, Pro paid5-hour and weekly limits with reset times, through Anthropic's own sign-inYes, plus Grok and AntigravityNot stated
Claude GodmacOS 13+ menu bar app, free, MITSession, weekly and per-model quotas with cost history, using the Claude CLI's OAuth credentialsNo, Claude onlyNot stated
Usage for ClaudeiPhone, iPad, Mac (macOS 15+) and Apple Watch; free with in-app purchasesSession and weekly limits, by signing in to your Claude account; Claude Code tracking is optionalNoNot stated
VibepanionsmacOS 14+ desktop companion, SGD 7.99 once, 14-day refundClaude Code's own 5-hour and weekly figures; labelled "estimated" until Claude Code has reportedYes, reported from Codex session filesEvery session as a desk; click to focus its terminal

Two tools share the name Claude Usage Tracker: the browser extension by lugia19 and the Mac app by hamed-elfayome. The table keeps them apart. ClaudeOps, which some lists still mention, is left out: its site returned "not found" on 1 Oct 2026.

Which one should you pick?

It depends on what you want to see and what you are willing to hand over. Going by what each tool says about itself:

Why limits are only half the problem

The limit tells you how much you have left; it does not tell you which session is burning it or which one stopped to ask you something. With four or five Claude Code and Codex sessions across terminal tabs, the usual failure is not running out. It is a session that sat for twenty minutes waiting for a yes, while the 5-hour window kept moving.

Most monitors in the table are meters. They answer "how much", not "where". If you run several sessions at once, look for a tool that also shows session state and can take you to the right window.

How Vibepanions handles it

Vibepanions is a macOS app that shows how much of your Claude Code and Codex usage limit is left, when it resets, and which terminal session is waiting for you. It floats above every window as a small widget with a ring for the 5-hour limit (Claude or Codex, whichever the office shows), and opens into an office view with one desk per session.

There are also fifteen unlockable companions, the first (Miso) at 200,000 characters. They are there to keep the window pleasant to leave open; the limits are the point.

What should a monitor be allowed to read?

As little as it needs. The tools above get their numbers in four ways: local log files, Claude Code's status line data, the login Claude Code keeps in your Keychain (used to ask Anthropic's usage API directly, as Usagebar, Limits Monitor and Claude God describe), or your signed-in claude.ai account (OAuth, browser cookies or a pasted session key). The first two never leave your Mac. The last two mean the app holds or uses a credential that can act as you, so check what it stores and where it sends it.

Vibepanions reads only local files in ~/.claude, ~/.codex and ~/.vibepanions, and never asks for a Claude or OpenAI password. Optional GitHub sign-in, to keep your score online, shares only your login, avatar, character totals, a character id and a coarse state, never prompts or code. The details are on the privacy page.

Five habits that stretch your limit

Anthropic's own guide to Claude Code usage lists five habits behind most "I burned through my limit by lunchtime" reports:

  1. Clear between tasks. Every earlier message is resent on every turn, so run /clear when you switch problems.
  2. Match the model to the job. Sonnet for most coding, Opus when you are stuck, Haiku for quick mechanical work.
  3. Point at files instead of pasting them. A bare path lets Claude read only the part it needs.
  4. Keep CLAUDE.md lean. It is sent with every turn; Anthropic suggests under roughly 200 lines.
  5. Ask for a plan before big changes. A plan costs a few hundred tokens; a wrong 400-line diff costs thousands.

What happens when you hit the limit?

On Claude, you wait for the reset, upgrade, or buy usage credits. Usage credits are available on Pro, Max 5x and Max 20x, are billed at standard API rates, cover both claude.ai and Claude Code, and have a daily redemption limit of $2,000. The five-hour limit keeps resetting as usual.

On Codex, OpenAI says a turn that is already running can finish, subject to fair-use limits. After that, the usage page shows your options: add credits, apply an available reset, upgrade, or wait for the reset.

FAQ

Does Anthropic publish a usage monitor for Claude Code?

Yes, in two places. The /usage command inside Claude Code shows plan usage limits, and Settings > Usage on claude.ai shows progress bars for the five-hour session and the weekly limits. Neither stays on screen while you work.

Are Claude and Codex limits shared with the chat apps?

For Claude, yes: Anthropic says claude.ai, Claude Code and Claude Desktop all count towards the same usage limit. For Codex, OpenAI says local messages and cloud chats share your plan's allowance, and on plans with shared allowances Codex shares a pool with ChatGPT Work.

Which monitors show both Claude Code and Codex?

Of the tools compared here, ccusage, CodexBar, the Claude Usage Tracker Mac app, SessionWatcher, Code Meter, AI Limits Tracker and Vibepanions cover both. Usagebar, Limits Monitor, Claude God and ClaudeUsageBar are for Claude only, and the Claude Code Usage Monitor README does not mention Codex.

Which Claude Code usage monitors are free?

Claude Code Usage Monitor, ccusage, CodexBar and the Claude Usage Tracker Mac app are MIT licensed. Claude God and ClaudeUsageBar are free and open source, and Limits Monitor says it is free with nothing locked. Code Meter is free to try, and AI Limits Tracker and Usage for Claude are free with paid upgrades. Usagebar (USD 9), SessionWatcher (from USD 6.99) and Vibepanions (SGD 7.99) are one-time purchases.

Which monitor shows which Claude Code session is waiting for input?

Vibepanions shows every Claude Code and Codex session, marks the one waiting on a permission prompt, and a click brings its terminal to the front. The Claude Usage Tracker Mac app has a beta Dynamic Island that pulses when Claude Code needs input. The other tools compared here do not say they show it.

Is it safe to paste my claude.ai session key into a monitor?

A session key signs you in to claude.ai, so treat it like a password and only give it to an app you trust. Vibepanions never asks for it: it reads local files in ~/.claude, ~/.codex and ~/.vibepanions and never asks for a Claude or OpenAI password.

What does Vibepanions cost?

Vibepanions costs SGD 7.99, paid once, with a full refund within 14 days. It runs on macOS 14 and later.

Want your limits and sessions on screen? Get Vibepanions. SGD 7.99 once, full refund within 14 days.

Sources

Fetched 23 Sep 2026. The eight tools added on 1 Oct 2026 were fetched that day.

Next: How to check your Claude Code and Codex usage limits.